Going abroad

The Department of English Studies encourages all of its students to spend at least three successive months in a country where English is the primary language spoken. Spending time abroad is part of the regular course of study and the graduation requirements take this into account. Aside from these formal requirements, there are numerous arguments in favor of spending a semester or even a year abroad. Living in an English-speaking country offers you the unique chance to immerse yourself the subject of your studies and engage with its many facets and nuances. It also confronts you with new topics of inquiry and approaches to scholarly questions that can expand your knowledge and open up new perspectives on your discipline. Speaking, reading, writing and hearing English on a daily basis can only improve your language proficiency, which usually translates into better quality academic work after your return to Germany. Finally, immersion in an Anglophone culture can give you insights and viewpoints that even the best cultural studies course cannot duplicate.

All three courses of study provide the opportunity for a lengthy stay abroad. Whether you opt for a student exchange within Europe with the ERASMUS program, study in the USA/Canada, or Australia/New Zealand, the Department of English Studies has generous transfer credit policies so coursework completed abroad can fulfill requirements here in Germany and facilitate the timely completion of your degree program. To obtain financial support for study or research abroad, students of English Studies (including doctoral candidates) are encouraged to apply for the Department's Sophie Bernthsen Fellowship. (See Anerkennung von Leistungsnachweisen).

In addition to these exchange programs, a wealth of other opportunities is available for students who want to experience life and gain practical experience in an English-speaking country, such as working as an assistant teacher in a British school or participating in an internship program at an American college. From choosing the right program, crafting a solid application, and dealing with visas and paperwork to organizing your return to the University of Heidelberg, the Department and the Study Abroad office (Akademische Auslandsamt) of the university work together to make the process as smooth as possible.

Anglistisches Seminar
Contact
English Department
Kettengasse 12
D - 69117 Heidelberg

Mrs Schmitt, Zi. 210
Mon-Thu 10-11
Tel.: +49 (0)6221-54-2836
Fax: +49 (0)6221-54-2877

Library Opening Hours
Mon-Fri 9 am-8 pm
Sat 10 am-7 pm

during semester break
Mon-Fri 10 am-6 pm

Email Contact
studium@as.uni-heidelberg.de

Index A-Z

Auslandsaufenthalte

Going abroad - Auslandsaufenthalte während des Studiums

Das Anglistische Seminar empfiehlt allen seinen Studierenden einen mindestens dreimonatigen zusammenhängenden Auslandsaufenthalt in einem englischsprachigen Land. Diese Empfehlung ist in den jeweiligen Prüfungsordnungen verankert. Jenseits dieser technischen Gründe sprechen auch zahlreiche andere Argumente dafür, sich ein Auslandssemester oder -jahr nicht entgehen zu lassen: Es gibt keine andere Gelegenheit, die Quellensprache Ihres Studiengegenstandes derart intensiv und in zahlreichen Facetten kennenzulernen. Zudem werden Sie während Ihres Auslandsstudiums neuen Lehr- und Forschungsgegenständen begegnen, die Ihr Fachwissen erweitern und neue Perspektiven aufzeigen. Dass sich der tägliche Umgang mit der Fremdsprache auch positiv auf die in Deutschland geforderten Studienleistungen auswirkt, liegt auf der Hand. Und schließlich kann kein noch so guter Landeskurs das aktive Erleben der Kultur des Ziellandes ersetzen.

In allen drei Studiengängen haben Sie die Möglichkeit zu einem längeren Auslandsaufenthalt. Sie können sich beispielsweise für ein Studium im europäischen Ausland (ERASMUS), einen Aufenthalt in USA/Kanada, oder einen Austausch mit einer Universität in Australien/Neuseeland entscheiden. Zusätzlich zu diesen Austauschprogrammen gibt es für Studierende und Promovierende des Anglistischen Seminars die Möglichkeit, einen finanziellen Zuschuss für Studium oder Forschung im Ausland über das Sophie-Bernthsen-Stipendium zu beantragen. Damit ein Auslandsaufenthalt nicht zu einer Studienzeitverlängerung führt, ist das Anglistische Seminar bemüht, im Ausland erbrachte Studienleistungen möglichst großzügig anzuerkennen (Anerkennung von Leistungsnachweisen).

Neben diesen Studienaufenthalten gibt es noch eine Vielzahl anderer Möglichkeiten, Zeit im englischsprachigen Ausland zu verbringen: Die Tätigkeit als assistant teacher, aber auch praxisorientierte Programme an amerikanischen Colleges bieten die Chance, praktische Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

Auch das Akademische Auslandsamt steht Ihnen als Ansprechpartner zur Verfügung.

Anglistisches Seminar
Fristen im Winter 2017/2018
Beginn der Vorlesungszeit
Dienstag, 17. Oktober 2017

Ende der Vorlesungszeit:
Samstag, 10. Februar 2017

Online-Anmeldung

Anmeldezeitraum für alle Kurse (außer HS und PS III)
31. Juli - 10. August

Wechselmöglichkeit
28. August - 12. Oktober

Anmeldezeitraum für Neuimmatrikulierte und WiederholerInnen
2. Oktober - 12. Oktober
Tausch für Einführungen, Grammar und Pronunciation
17. Oktober - 20. Oktober

Inhalte A-Z